Tsukiji Bon-Odori summer festival (Honganji Natsu Matsuri) in Tokyo

This afternoon, I was at starbucks at Tsukiji for a coffee and I heard drum sounds..
And I found there’s a Bon-Odori festival at temple (Hongan-ji)  next to Tsukiji outer fish market! (and it’s in front of starbucks)

Image

Bon-odori (盆踊り) is one of the typical Japanese festival in summer and it’s usually held at small park or temple for local people.

In summer, during July-August, there’re fireworks and Bon-odori at many places in Japan- usually it held on weekend- and we feel summer season when we see the fireworks or hear the Japanese drum sounds.

ImageImage

Even the small kids wear special clothes and beat the Japanese drum! So cool and cute!

On this festival day, people wear Yukata (Japanese summer Kimono) and grab good food with friends or family! 🙂

I think Japanese people love to eat outside.. We always need some excuse to do that (Hanami in spring, Bon-odori in summer…) and we drink and eat outside all the year..! But it’s really fun!

At Tsukiji outer market, there are many good fish store, butchers (chicken and pork stores are separated ) etc.. and today, they open their small food shop at the temple.

Yakitori from Chicken shop (Tori Fuji)

ImageImage

Small Okonomiyaki

Image

Grilled smelt with salt from Sushi restaurant

Image

Grilled squid and shrimp

Image

Fried noodle (Yakisoba)

Image

And around the drums, there’re seats for people to sit down and grab drink/food 🙂

If you have chance to come to Japan in summer, it’s very humid and hot here but it’s good way for you to spend some time as local people.. 🙂

Image

28 thoughts on “Tsukiji Bon-Odori summer festival (Honganji Natsu Matsuri) in Tokyo

  1. I like this post. It made me remember all the food stalls along Sumida river during hanami when I had the chance to travel to Tokyo years ago. The yakitori and yakisoba are my favorites 🙂 Btw, thanks for the follow!

  2. Thanks to you, I’m now craving Japanese food… My wife is big foodie and has been successfully converting me into one as well. Every time we visit her family in Japan, we’re on the hunt for great food. Ugh, just the thought of yakisoba and yakitori is making my mouth water… Nice post, great photos!

  3. omg!! that squid and those huge shrimp look amazing! the yakitori place is also very famous! what a great festival food roundup. It’s rare to get so many specialty shops like that!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I agree with you! Since I live near to Tusukiji Fish Marketm I go there everyday to buy ingredients for daily cooking. But I still don’t feel boring.

Leave a Reply

