How to make Kuri no Shibukawani- Japanese chestnut glace recipe

This week, I saw one of my best favorite thing at vegetable store- Chestnut (Kuri) :)!
I felt autumn is finally coming ❤

I used chestnut for Kuri-Gohan (rice cooked with chestnut) first, and then I made Shibukawani yesterday.
It’s similar to Marron glace but the Japanese one is with inner skin still on. It’s natural look and a fantastic taste, you can also use it for making many kinds of sweets.
I made chestnut tart last week.

IMG_1846 IMG_1847

It take time to make them from scratch but the taste is special!
You can find bottled Kuri-no-Shibukawani at market as well in Japan.

Ingredient:

750g of Chestnut (big pieces are better)
550g of granulated sugar
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1.5L water
1. Put the chestnut in a water and keep in a fridge for 1 day, after they are soaked well then it’s easier to peel the hardshell.

2. With a sharp knife, cut a little hardshell and peel off with hand carefully (keep the inner skin on) After peel off, place in a water.
IMG_2421

IMG_2422
3. Place plenty of water, baking soda, and chestnut in a pan and cook for 30 minutes with lower heat.

IMG_2424

4. Drain the water and wash chestnut well.

5.  Do (3) – (4) again for 3 times.

6. Clean up the black surface of the chestnuts with finger (gently rubbing) and bamboo skewer.

IMG_2425 IMG_2426

7. Place the clean chestnuts in a clean water.

8. Place sugar and 1.5L water in a pan and bring it boil. Then turn the heat to lower heat and place chestnut. Cook it for 1.5 hours with lower heat.

IMG_2427

9. Turn off the heat and place a lid, leave it for overnight.

IMG_2428

10. Remove all the chestnuts from the syrup and put saran wrap on top to prevent dry.

IMG_2429

11. Boil the syrup again until it became half. Turn off the heat and return the chestnuts into it.

IMG_2430
IMG_2452
 
10 thoughts on “How to make Kuri no Shibukawani- Japanese chestnut glace recipe

  1. Reblogged this on 家庭の味 and commented:
    When I saw this, I had to Reblog it because Chestnuts are very popular in Japanese desserts. I’ll have to post about Japanese pastries and desserts. The “Mont Blanc” is particularly popular but I’ve also enjoyed Chestnut Kit-Kat among others. (I’m sure I’ll post sometime soon about Japanese Kit-Kats. My personal fave is the “Adult Sweet.”) Anyway, lots of new ideas for posts keep coming so check back often… And leave suggestions if there’s anything in particular you’d like to share with “the uninitiated”.

    • Thank you for your comment. Don’t hesitate to reblog, because it is my pleasure. I agree with you that Japanese sweets is really really amazing, for instance, various kinds of chocolate. I am waiting for your blogs!

  2. Thank you for this. I had years ago and really liked. A friend has several chestnut trees on her property. I picked a huge bagful off the ground last weekend. I can hardly wait to try this.

  3. I saw some chestnuts when walking down a shopping arcade in Fukuoka yesterday, they were so huge! I wish I could find such huge chestnuts in Southern California, ours are so dinky. Your Shibukawani looks so gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

