Harumaki Recipe- How to make Japanese spring roll

Haru-maki is originally from China, but it’s one of the very popular Japanese home dish now.

When I was living in China, I tried their Haru-maki but it’s very different.
Chinese one (maybe it also depends on region, I tried at Anhui province) is more for enjoying the crispy skin, they have many kinds of filling but filling amount is very small.

Japanese one, is definitely for eating the filling. We place meat, some kinds of vegetables.. it can be your main dish, you would be full with 2-3 pieces 🙂

It’s easy, and healthy compared to the other deep-fried foods. My brother’s favorite food is the Haru-maki which my mom often cooked.
Last time I went back to my hometown, I asked my mom’s recipe but she said she lost one since she’d been using the same paper over 40 years.
My Haru-maki taste is close to hers, but I still feel something is missing but my mom can’t tell me what’s difference.
If there’re 100 family then there’re 100 kinds of Haru-maki recipe.

Please try my recipe, and adjust the ingredients depends on your taste 🙂

ingredients (5 servings)

10 sheets of Harsumaki skin (1 pack)
1 piece of garlick
1 piece of ginger
150g of sliced pork (cut into
100g of bamboo shoot
2 green sweet bell pepper
1/2 onion
2 piece of deied Chinese black mushrooms (soaked in the water)

(A) 2 teaspoons of soy sauce
(A) 1 teaspoon of sugar
(A) 100cc of Dashi (or the water for soaking mushrooms)
(A) a pinch of salt
(B) 1 Tablespoon of potato starch
(B) 2 Tablespoons of water

Wheat flour
Water

Image

1. Mix all the (A)s in a bowl. Mix (B)s in the another bowl.

2. Place a little sesame oil or vegetable oil in a pan, then sauté ginger and garlick. Then add pork, bamboo shoot, onion, bell pepper.

Image

3. When the ingredients are almost cooked, add the (A) mixture then bring to boil. Turn the heat to lower heat and add (B) mixture, cook it again for few more minutes to make it sticky.

Image

4. Cool it down completely.

Image

5. Wrap the filling with Harumaki skin then stick the edge with flour and water mixture.

-Please be careful to close all the edge completely otherwise the filling explodes when you deep-fried

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

6. Deep fry them with 170-180 degree C oil until the color became golden brown.

Image

Enjoy! ❤

10 thoughts on “Harumaki Recipe- How to make Japanese spring roll

    • You mean, you want to add marmite as filling in the Harumaki? I always want to try marmite but there’re no chance so far, so I’m not sure if it’s good or not for Harumaki, but please try and let me know how it works!

Leave a Reply

