How to make buta no kakuni – Japanese pork stew kakuni Recipe (easy one)

The humid summer is almost over in Tokyo.
People often say “Autumn appetite” (食欲の秋) in this season, since we have so many tasty ingredients in this season.
And of course, it’s my most favorite season also!
Can’t wait to cook chestnut, pumpkin, sweet potato, fish etc…

Today I introduce you Kakuni (Japanese pork stew) recipe which is one of my husband’s favorite dish 🙂
The key is just cook slowly, and for long time- then the pork became melting texture- Yum! so it takes time but is very easy and no fail!

-Ingredients

1kg of Pork Belly

6-8 Leak

(A) 200cc of water
(A) 100cc of soy sauce
(A) 100cc of cooking Sake
(A) 5 Table spoons of sugar (If you like sweet taste, you can add more)

1. Place all the leak in a pan.
IMG_2354

2. Cut the pork belly into 3cm blocks and place on the leak.
IMG_2357

3. Add all the (A)s in a pan and place a lid. Cook until it boils.
( It looks water is not enough, but it’s coming out from leak later)

IMG_2358

4. Once it boils, remove the lid and cook for 2 hours with lower heat or until the meat became soft. If the pork is not melting texture, it’s not done!
IMG_2359

IMG_2360
If you have left over of this pork, it’s also nice to make fried rice with diced pork and this sauce!
Enjoy 🙂

30 thoughts on “How to make buta no kakuni – Japanese pork stew kakuni Recipe (easy one)

  1. That sounds absolutely delicious! Now I want to make it. Also by chance, do you know how to make stew with pumpkin, sweet potato & miso? I ate it once and love it, but I have no idea how to cook it…

    • Thanks for your comment! As for the dish you said, I’m sorry that I have no idea what it is, maybe it’s not traditional dish or local food of somewhere since we have different food depends on the region sometimes.

  2. Thank you for finding my site and for following. I am now following your site. It is so interesting – so many good recipes and interesting pictures – it is great to be able to visit Japan through your eyes and palate. Most enjoyable. I hope you do not mind, that I an American from the South use Japanese recipes and such. I have a deep love for your country, culture and people. Please also, pardon my Japanese – it is not always that good, but I try!

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

