Melon pan recipe – How to make Japanese Melon bread (melon ban)

Image

Have you ever had Japanese bread ?
Our food culture is based on rice, but we also have many kinds of own bread as well like An-pan (sweet bean paste in the bread), Curry-pan, Yakisoba-pan etc…
Today I introduce you one of the Japanese bread, Melon pan bread 🙂 (Some on call this melon ban)
It’s sweet bread with bread-dough interior and a cookie-dough with ridges resembling a muskmelon.
So actually you don’t taste any melon flavor (only the shape),  but you will find the taste of melon pan (or melon bread / melon ban) is familiar with you since it’s combination of cookie and bread.
Original melon pan bread doesn’t have any filling, but it’s also nice to put custard cream inside ❤

Ingredients(4 servings):

-Bread part

150g of Bread flour
1 Tablespoon of fat-free milk powder
2 Tablespoons of egg

(A) 1 teaspoon of dry yeast
(A) 2 Tablespoons of sugar
(A)55cc~ of warm water
(B) 30g of butter
(B) a pinch of salt

-cookie part

100g of flour
30g of butter
2 Tablespoon of caster sugar or frozen snow sugar
1/2 of egg
a pinch of vanilla-oil or lemon oil if you like

-Make cookie dough

1.    Place butter in a bowl (room temparature)

2.    Add sugar and mix well until it became smooth (whitish color)

3.    Add half of the beaten egg, mix well, and add the remaining egg and mix again.

4.    Shift the flour in a bawl and mix it with spatura.

5.  Place the dough on a plastic film. Make cylinder shape and place in a fridge for about 30 minutes.

-Make bread dough

1. Place all the (A)s in a cup for 10 minutes.

2. Place bread flour, egg, milk powder in a bawl and add (1), mix well.

3. Add all the (B)s in a same bowl and mix it until it combine together.

4. Place the dough on a big plate, knead and stretching until the dough become smooth, coherent and pliable. (The dough is sticky at first but it’s become stiff)

5. When you have a nice smooth dough ball, put into a ball, cover with plastic film and let rise for about 30 minutes. (The best temperature is about 40 degree C)

6.  Take out the dough, pinch down, and divide into 4 pieces with scraper. Roll each piece into a ball, let rest for 10 minutes under a damp kitchen towel.

7.  Take out the cookie dough and flatten out each piece into a thin round with plastic film. Place the bread dough in the center and turn it upside down. Cover the bread dough with the cookie dough.

Image

Image

Image

8.  Put sugar on the surface and make some slit.

Image

Image

9.   Cover with wet clothe and leave them in a warm place for about 20 minutes.

8.   Prepare the oven to 180 degree C  and bake them for 10 minutes first (to make the cookie dough crispy), then 160 degree C for 12 minutes after.

melon pan (melon bread/melon ban)

Image

38 thoughts on “Melon pan recipe – How to make Japanese Melon bread (melon ban)

  1. I love melon pans! I have tried to make this several times, and the cookie dough was always too wet and pretty hard to roll. Yours look perfectly okay though, maybe I was wrong somewhere. Your melon pans look so good, bookmarked this and will try it out very soon ^^

  2. Now I get it! I was always intrigued by these melon bread sold in Japanese Parisian bakeries. I tasted them but couldn’t feel any taste of melon..:) thanks for sharing, I’ll try the recipe!

  3. This recipe looks great, I loved the melon bread I had when I was an exchange student, but I was wondering if you would have a suggestion to replace the milk powder with? I recently found I’m allergic to milk and I’m still looking for substitutes but would love to try this.

  4. Your melon bread looks so yummy. I’ve always wanted to try melon pan. I have yet to actually find any where I live though, which has always bothered me. Thanks to you though, now I can try making my own!
    Thank you so much.

  5. Watashi wa ichnenhankan nihonni sundeita toki meronpan ga ichiban DAISUKI deshita! Amerikani modotte kara zutto oishii meronpan no reshipi ga hoshikatta desu! Arigato gozaimasu!
    Kore kara tsukurimasu~! «^.^»

  6. My 4 year old loves melon pan. I’ve only just started to learn how to cook and bake, but I must try this sometime. Can I ask you; how do you say “dry yeast” in Japanese? I will be buying the ingredients here in Japan. I have lived here for many years, but as I don’t normally bake I have no idea how to say that in Japanese!! Thank you very much.

  7. I like the helpful information you provide in your
    articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I am quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a comment